Powered By Salt!

So, I have good news and bad news.

Good news is my vomiting stopped. This means I can have all the fluids and salt that I want. Basically I’m having between 6-9g of salt a day, with as much fluids as possible. I aim to have 1-2g with meals, 1/2g between meals, and 1/2 gram with morning and evening meds.  Plus additional salt as needed.

Sometimes when I’m eating lunch at work, I hear other employee’s talking about trying to eat healthy, lowering their bp, cutting out salt, ect. Meanwhile I chuckle to myself as I discretely pour 3 packets of salt on my already salty food.

I feel so much better taking the salt, especially when I have it at regular intervals, (2 hour intervals work best). My POTS is a little better, my migraines are a little better (sometimes taking a salt tablet helps with the pain even more than a big dose of Aleve.) Mostly though, I have more energy! I think low bp can make you feel tired. So eating lots of salt and raising my bp to “normal” levels, gives me more energy. Or at least the illusion of it anyway.

Of course having lots of salt has downsides. Such as bloating/water retention. My clothes are fitting tight, my face is a little more puffy than normal, and I’m struggling not to feel “fat.”

Unfortunately we had to increase my Proproanolol some more, and its definitely had an impact on my migraines. I’m really struggling with them, and so I’m doing everything possible to avoid triggers…. which led me to cut my hair short.

People usually talk about the “weight” of long hair causing migraines, but for me the weight doesn’t bother me at all. The problem is ponytails, buns, and braids tend to cause migraines instantly, unless I manage to put them in perfectly with no tension spots.  (Which happens maybe once out of every 100 tries.)  Yesterday was the last straw. I put my hair in a french braid to go to work, and 10 minutes later had a migraine starting. I tried re-braiding my hair, but it was too late. I put on a smile and pretended everything was fine all day at work, then came home feeling sick and exhausted.

Is going through all that pain almost everyday worth it? Just so that I can put my hair in “cute” braid? No. Its really not.

So I went to the salon, (much to my dad’s dismay), and got my hair cut into a partial pixie/asymmetrical bob.

 

I’m trying really hard to love it. But I don’t. I think it doesn’t look right with thick, damaged, fried hair that refuses to straighten. Not to mention my hair is a strange color, my roots are on the greenish side, while the lengths are a dingy ginger blonde. (Its as close to my natural color as I could get.)

Thankfully my hair grows really fast, between 3/4″ and 1″ a month, depending on what I eat and what supplements I take. Once my roots get to 3 inches long, I’m planning to go for a full pixie. Then maybe I can experiment as it grows out and find a short hair style that works.

Anyway, I promised some updates pics of Leo, these are pictures I took weeks ago. I wish I had more, but we’ve been cooped up in the house since winter started.

 

WIN_20160114_123206

 

20160126_115633

4 thoughts on “Powered By Salt!

  1. I have super thick, dark hair, and lots of it. My hair, which used to be ‘I can sit on it’ length in high school, has gotten shorter and shorter as I’ve gotten sicker and sicker. I got it cut to mid-back length in college. Then shoulder length. Then bob-length before I got married. Now, it’s boy short.

    Like you said, it’s not the weight of the hair itself that’s the problem. It’s the migraines from putting it up (no matter where I put it, I get a migraine!). Even with shorter hair, if i put it into a ponytail or a braid, I’d get a migraine. My hair just doesn’t like being pointed in a different direction for a long time, even gently.

    Add to that my inability to put my arms above my head without my heart racing and my blood pressure dropping… brushing, washing, and styling my hair just became IMPOSSIBLE.

    I deal with how it looks. Hair is not the be-all and end-all of life. But I do prefer my hair long (I wouldn’t want ‘sitting on it length’ now, but at least past my shoulders would be nice!). I like the shape of my face better with longer hair, and I miss being able to style my hair different ways.

    When I got my hair cut recently, a guy said to my husband, “I don’t understand why women cut their hair like that. NO GUY wants a woman with short hair!”

    I was gobsmacked. Firstly because that guy was married to a woman with short hair! Sure, it was a shoulder length bob, not boy short like mine. But I’d hardly call that “long hair”. (My husband said that apparently, when they’d gotten married, she’d had super long hair, and has since got it cut shorter to make it easier to manage. Her husband prefers it long though).

    Secondly, because how can that guy know what ALL guys want? Some guys like girls with long hair. Some guys like girls with short hair. Some guys go wild for bald chicks!

    Thirdly, because this guy knows I’m sick. But it still hadn’t occurred to him that I have to make decisions not based on what I like, but on what allows me to manage best. The way I cut my hair, the clothes I choose to wear… everything is chosen based on what I can manage.

  2. Thanks! It means alot that someone else knows how I feel.
    I decided to go with a pixie cut, the asymmetrical thing was causing tension in my neck, with all the weight on one side and nothing on the other.

Leave a Reply

